2021 PAD Award Winners

From Sara Hayden, PAD Vice Chair:

It is my pleasure to announce the Public Address Division’s annual awards. Although there were many excellent convention submissions, three papers received particularly high scores from reviewers. The recipients of the Wrage-Baskerville Top Paper Award are Luke Winslow and Rebecca Lanier, both of Baylor University, for their essay “Thinning the Heard: COVID-19, Immunity, and the Rhetoric of Trumpian Catastrophe.” The recipient of the Robert Gunderson Top Student Paper Award is Joshua Smith of Kansas University for his essay, “Transforming Land, or, what Bears Ears National Monument Teaches Us about Rhetoric and Colonialism.” The third Top Paper Award goes to Elizabeth Gardner and Rebeca Garcia Hernandes for their paper, “Child Workers Asserting a Bolivian Childhood in the Debate of the Co?digo Nin~a, Nin~o y Adolescente.”

In addition to awarding the top papers submitted to our annual convention, each year, the Public Address Division distributes the Marie Hochmuth Nichols Award honoring Outstanding Published Scholarship in Public Address. This year, the committee chose to honor Lisa Flores for her monograph Deportable and Disposable: Public Rhetoric and the Making of the “Illegal” Immigrant. In addition, the committee congratulates Lisa M. Corrigan for her book Black Feelings: Race and Affect in the Long Sixties and Allison L. Rowland for her monograph Zoetropes and the Politics of Humanhood, both of which were named as Honorable Mentions. Thanks much to the reviewers and committee members for their hard work and congratulations to all of the award recipients!