Call for Nominations–2016 Nichols Award

The Public Address Division of NCA solicits nominations for the Marie Hochmuth Nichols Award honoring outstanding published scholarship in public address.  The award will be presented at the business meeting of the Public Address Division in Philadelphia, in November 2016. Scholarship published in 2015 is eligible for consideration.  The Award recognizes individuals who have made significant scholarly contributions to the study of public address.

Marie Hochmuth Nichols (right) was the 55th President of the Speech Association of America (n55  Marie Hochmuth Nichols (3)ow the National Communication Association) in 1969, editor of the Quarterly Journal of Speech from 1962 to 1965, and recipient of the Speech Communication Association’s Distinguished Service Award in 1976.  Her scholarship concentrated on rhetorical theory, as she introduced the field to Kenneth Burke and I. A. Richards, and the criticism of public address. A list of previous Nichols Award recipients may be viewed at the PAD awards web site.

To be considered for the award, nominated authors must be members of the Public Address Division.  Single and co-authored, peer-reviewed scholarly books, originally written in English or translated into English from other languages, are eligible for this award.

Nominations must include: (1) a letter of nomination that identifies the scholarly work, specifies the publisher and the publication date, and provides a detailed rationale for why the work should receive the award and (2) three copies of the work being nominated.  These materials cannot be returned.

The criteria to be used in selecting the recipient include (1) the importance of the work in extending or altering our understanding of public address and/or rhetorical practice; (2) originality; (3) quality of research; (4) intellectual creativity; and (5) quality of writing.

Members of the Awards Committee who feel that they are unable to be impartial in judging any nominee will recuse themselves from discussion of that nominee.

Deadline for receipt of materials is March 31, 2016.

Send nomination materials to:

Professor Leah Ceccarelli
Department of Communication
Box 353740
University of Washington
Seattle, WA 98195-3740

2015 PAD Ballot

NCA 2015 Convention

The PAD Nominating Committee announces the following slate for the 2015 PAD elections. Please attend the PAD business meeting, Friday, 11/20 at 2:00 pm in Brasilia 3, Rio Conference Center. Winners noted in bold/italics.

Vice Chair Elect
Lisa Flores (University of Colorado, Boulder)
John Lynch (University of Cincinnati)

Maegan Parker Brooks (Willamette University)
Leslie Harris (University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee)
Michelle Yang (University of Maryland)

Benson-Campbell Committee
Cara Finnegan (University of Illinois)
Johanna Hartelius (University of Pittsburgh)
Sara Vanderhaagen (University of Nevada, Las Vegas)

Nichols Award Committee (vote for two)
James Darsey (Georgia State University)
Davis W. Houck (Florida State University)
Belinda A. Stillion Southard (University of Georgia)
Dave Tell (University of Kansas)

PAD Nominating Committee (vote for five)
Bryan Amsden (Clayton State University)
Jeff Bennett (University of Iowa), Chair
Adina Cheree Carlson (Arizona State University)
Emily Crosby (University of Pittsburgh)
Amanda Edgar (University of Memphis)
Stephen Heidt (Florida Atlantic University)
Kevin E. Johnson (Cal State Long Beach)
Jaclyn Nolan (University of Georgia)
Carly S. Woods (University of Nebraska-Lincoln)
Nathan Atkinson (Georgia State University)

NCA Nominating Committee
Kelly Jakes (Wayne State University)
Tiffany Lewis (CUNY Baruch College)

PAD Announces 2015 Award Winners

2015 PAD Award Winners are:

W-B Winner 2015Wrage-Baskerville Award (top contributed paper)
Maegan Parker Brooks
, Willamette University, “Embracing the Interruptive Voice: Rhetoric, Race, and Public School Deliberation.”

Robert Gunderson Award (top contributed student paper)
RG Winner 2015Paul McKean
, University of Illinois, “Constituting an Economy of Heroes: The Rehabilitation of an Economic Idiom in Ronald Reagan’s 1981 Economic Recovery Campaign.”

Marie Hochmuth Nichols Award

MHN Winner 2015Shawn J. Parry-Giles, University of Maryland, for Hillary Clinton in the News: Gender and Authenticity in American Politics (University of Illinois Press).

B-C Winner 2015Benson-Campbell Dissertation Research Award

Michael J. Steudeman, University of Maryland



Top Paper Panelists 2015

Top Paper Panelists, with Vice-Chair Lisa Keränen

What We Study?

From vice-chair Lisa Keränen: a keyword density analysis of the 198 PAD survey responders’ top self-reported keyword terms describing their areas of expertise. “Rhetoric” and “rhetorical” are not included. Click on the image to see the results.


PAD Election Ballot, 2014

2014 Convention Webpage Banner

The PAD Nominating Committee has announced the ballot for 2014

Vice Chair-Elect

  • Jay Childers
  • Jennifer Mercieca

Nominating Committee (five will be elected, and the top vote getter becomes the chair)

  • Nathan Atkinson
  • Kundai Chirindo
  • Lisa Corrigan
  • E. Johanna Hartelius
  • Tracey Quigley Holden
  • Brandon Inabinet
  • Alyssa Samek
  • Don Waisanen
  • Carly Woods
  • Michelle Murray Yang

Nichols Award Committee (top two vote getters are elected)

  • Tasha Dubriwny
  • Jason Edwards
  • Danielle Endres
  • Brad Vivian

Benson Campbell Dissertation Award Committee

  • Jason Edward Black
  • Charles E. Morris III

NCA Nominating Committee

  • Nathan Crick
  • Greg Dickinson

Winans-Wichelns Award Committee

  • Robin E. Jensen
  • Thomas Lessl